A history of the house

The SS Fairhaven
Fairhaven painting

Built in 1910 by Captain Richard Smailes of the Smailes Steam Ship Company, the house has a rich history. It was originally Captain Smailes’ personal country residence and retains many of the original features including the stained glass front door, fireplaces and cornicing, and a stunning pitch pine staircase.

The house was named after the SS Fairhaven (pictured right). A painting commemorating its place in the village (also pictured right) was carried aboard the SS Fairhaven throughout WWI as a reminder of home.

Over the years, the house has been a private family home, hotel, guest house, and from 1942-1945, provided a home and schooling for young evacuees. Some of its former residents have even been back to stay! The Smailes family still has strong links with the area, with Captain Richard Smailes' grandson living just a few doors away and his granddaughter in Whitby.

Over a century after Captain Smailes made this his country residence, the house now offers the perfect base for guests to explore the North Yorkshire Moors. We hope that we have the chance to welcome you to Fairhaven - a place for guests to relax, get away from it all, and enjoy the area’s many treasures.